London, England – Days 1 & 2 – “You’re an engineer, you figure it out.”

After my night in Leeds, I grabbed the next train to London, through King’s Cross.

Yes, I saw the sign for Platform 9 and 3/4s but they put it outside the station and I was too tired to deal with that bullshit.

I turned up outside the apartment door of my lovely host Bhavisha at 8:30 in the morning. This being Saturday, she had, unbeknownst to me, a pretty … fun night out. I was greeted with a half hearted, zombiesque “Oh. Hello.”

She led me to her guest room where I was handed an air mattress and a hairdryer and was subsequently told: “You’re an engineer, you figure it out.”

(This will be the title of my autobiography.)

Needless to say, I slept on the floor for the next three hours.

Given the hectic nature of the past few days, I decided on pursuing a quiet day in. This consisted of helping my friend paint her wall. We laid on a coat of what I believed to be white, but was soon reprimanded as it was actually “Antique Creme”. Once the wall had been sufficiently cremed, we upped the fun factor by watching it dry.

What followed was a night watching The X Factor (the newest American/British Idol) and eating Pizza Hut. For some reason, we bought some Pizza Hut nachos.

Do not buy Pizza Hut nachos.

They taste like thick, hard Doritos with stuff on them.

Day 2 saw us venture out into London. Specifically the area around Canary Wharf itself. The area is remarkably similar to Wall Street and the entire South Street Seaport area. We also tried our hand at The Spitelfields Market: one of many large, daily farmers market style setups throughout the city. I’ll mention some of the more interesting ones later.

Coming up next time: Museums, The Changing of the Guard, Shakespeare’s Globe, and Curry Pimps.

Cheerio,
Ganesh

Leave a Reply

